38.6c New Delhi, India, Monday, June 17, 2024

Centre Notifies Three Labour Codes

By Twinkle Agarwal      01 October, 2020 05:37 PM      0 Comments
Centre Notifies Three Labour Codes

Three Labour Codes were passed by the Lok Sabha recently. These codes merge 44 central labor Acts to simplify the labor laws of India and provide social security to all workers by improving the ease of doing business. The said labor codes are:

  1. Industrial Relations Code Bill 2020- Under this code, the definition of employers, workers, and strike were amended and laws relating to employer-employee relations were expanded. 60- day notice period for the strike was made compulsory for all employees. The companies were also allowed to hire and fire workers up to 300 workers which were originally limited to 100 workers. Industries that have 300 workers or few will not be required to issue a standing order.
  2. The Code on Social Security, 2020- The code required the central government to provide security schemes to workers in relation to education, health, old age, maternity benefit, etc. It is also required for providing various schemes like provident fund, life insurance, etc. The code is also required for the establishment of a National Social Security Board for seeing that the schemes are implemented properly.
  3. The Occupational Safety, Health & Working Conditions Code, 2020- The code expanded the definition of migrant workers and created work opportunities for women workers by enabling them to work in all establishments and for any kind of work. It also allowed them to work at night under certain conditions.

Share this article:

Leave a feedback about this

Trending Crime, Police And Law
Women, including housewife, approach NCW against controversial IPS officer Gyaneshwar Singh

Two women approach NCW against controversial IPS officer Gyaneshwar Singh, citing harassment for tweets based on news reports about his involvement in high-profile cases.

17 June, 2024 03:10 PM
Trending Judiciary
Courts this Week: Law Street Journal's Weekly Round-Up of SC & HCs [June 10 - June 15]

Get the latest updates from the Supreme Court of India and the High Courts ! Here’s a round up of the week's top legal stories in a quick, easy-to-read summary.

17 June, 2024 03:29 PM


Trending Judiciary
Plea filed in SC for fresh NEET

Plea filed in Supreme Court seeks fresh NEET-UG 2024 exams due to alleged paper leaks and malpractices. Petitioners demand a Special Investigation Team and preventive measures.

11 June, 2024 10:49 AM
Trending Judiciary
'Plant 30 trees', Delhi HC orders senior citizen accused of outraging woman's modesty

Plant 30 trees Delhi High Court orders senior citizen accused of outraging womans modesty

11 June, 2024 11:17 AM
Trending Judiciary
No liability under NI Act for dishonoured cheques of merged banks presented after validity period [Read Order]

Allahabad High Court rules that dishonoured cheques from merged banks presented after the validity period won't attract liability under Section 138 of the NI Act.

11 June, 2024 11:29 AM
Trending Executive
Modi 3.0 Cabinet: Full list of ministers and their respective portfolios

Modi 3.0 Cabinet: Amit Shah, S. Jaishankar, Nirmala Sitharaman, and Rajnath Singh retain key roles; allies TDP, JD(U), LJP, JD(S) secure major ministries.

11 June, 2024 03:11 PM


Join Group

Signup for Our Newsletter

Get Exclusive access to members only content by email