Justices B.R. Gavai, Surya Kant, Aniruddha Bose and A.S. Bopanna Supreme Court Judges

Four New Supreme Court Judges To Be Sworn In Tomorrow

Legal Insiders

The swearing-in ceremony of Justices B.R. Gavai, Surya Kant, Aniruddha Bose and A.S. Bopanna as Supreme Court judges will take place at 10.30 AM tomorrow i.e., May 24, 2019.

Their elevation as judges of the Supreme Court was notified by the Centre on May 22, 2019.

With their elevation, the apex court will now function with its full sanctioned strength of 31 judges.

On May 8, 2019, the SC collegium recommended the elevation of Justice Gavai and Justice Kant who are Chief Justices of Bombay High Court and Himachal Pradesh High Court respectively.

Justice Bose is the Chief Justice of the Jharkhand High Court, whereas Justice Bopanna is the Chief Justice of the Gauhati High Court.

The Collegium had recommended the elevation of Justices Bose and Bopanna on April 12, 2019. The Centre had initially returned this proposal, but the Collegium later reiterated the same on May 8, 2019.

[Read Circular]

Facebook Comments



Notice: WP_Query was called with an argument that is deprecated since version 3.1.0! caller_get_posts is deprecated. Use ignore_sticky_posts instead. in /home/lawstreet/public_html/wp-includes/functions.php on line 4546

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *