38.6c New Delhi, India, Thursday, April 18, 2024
CelebStreet

Actress Ameesha Patel Accused Of Rs 2.5 Cr Fraud, Film Producer Files Complaint

By LawStreet News Network      30 March, 2019 12:00 AM      0 Comments
Actress Ameesha Patel Accused Of Rs 2.5 Cr Fraud, Film Producer Files Complaint

Actress Ameesha Patel landed herself in legal trouble after film producer Ajay Kumar Singh filed a complaint against her for committing fraud to the tune of Rs. 2.5 crore.

Along with the actress, Mr. Singh has also named her business partner Kuunal Groomer in the complaint alleging fraud and cheque bouncing.

In the complaint filed in the Ranchi court, the producer has accused the actress for not returning the money that she had borrowed from him to make the film titled Desi Magic.

Talking about the incident, Mr. Singh said "I had given Ameesha and Kuunal Rs 2.5 crore when they visited Ranchi in March last year for an event. They had told me the film would release by June 2018 and would be a profitable venture for me. It has yet to arrive at the theatres and when I badgered them, they promised to return my money with interest in two-three months. They even gave me a cheque of Rs 3 crore but it bounced and when I went back to them, they told me this time that they had no intention of refunding my money. They also threatened me by showing me Ameesha’s photos with some influential people. They say the film will release this year, but I haven’t got any updates on their plans." The case for dishonour of cheques is filed under Section 138 of the Negotiable Instruments Act, 1881. In case the drawer of the cheque is found guilty under the section, he would be punished with imprisonment fora term which may extend to two years, or with fine which may extend to twice the amount of the cheque, or with both.



Share this article:

User Avatar
About:


Leave a feedback about this
TRENDING NEWS

burden-to-prove-dishonest-damage-to-electric-meter-is-for-electricity-theft-is-on-the-prosecution-says-delhi-hc
Trending Judiciary
Burden to prove dishonest damage to electric meter is for electricity theft, is on the prosecution: Delhi HC [Read Judgment]

Delhi High Court has held that the burden to prove that a person has ‘dishonestly’ damaged an electric meter to commit electricity theft is on the prosecution.

17 April, 2024 05:41 PM

TOP STORIES

two-day-conference-on-april-on-technology-and-dialogue-between-sc-and-singapore
Trending Legal Insiders
Two-day conference on April 13-14 on Technology and Dialogue between SC and Singapore

Explore AI's role in law at the India-Singapore Supreme Court conference on technology, enhancing judicial processes and access to justice, April 13-14, 2024.

12 April, 2024 06:16 PM
lsj-exclusive-interview-how-bjp-govt-will-free-chhattisgarh-from-naxal-menace
Trending Interview
LSJ Exclusive Interview: How BJP govt will free Chhattisgarh from “Naxal menace”? [Watch Video]

What is Chhattisgarh govt's plan for solving the Maoist/Naxalite problem in the state? Will there be a surgical strike against the Naxals or solution will be found via diplomatic channels? Read the Exclusive Interview with the Deputy Chief Minister Vijay Sharma.

13 April, 2024 12:33 PM
sc-rejects-review-of-order-to-pay-rs-154-cr-compensation-to-ex-air-force-staff-for-transfusion-of-hiv-infected-blood
Trending Judiciary
SC rejects review of order to pay Rs 1.54 Cr compensation to ex Air Force staff for transfusion of HIV infected blood [Read Order]

SC denies review of Rs 1.54 Cr HIV compensation order to ex-Air Force staff for medical negligence.

13 April, 2024 03:13 PM
cji-cautions-against-overlooking-ethical-legal-consideration-on-use-of-ai-in-court-adjudication
Trending Legal Insiders
CJI cautions against overlooking ethical legal consideration on use of AI in court adjudication

CJI D Y Chandrachud warns about ethical, legal challenges in AI use in courts, stressing need for thorough review.

13 April, 2024 07:08 PM

ADVERTISEMENT


Join Group

Signup for Our Newsletter

Get Exclusive access to members only content by email