38.6c New Delhi, India, Wednesday, June 19, 2024

Centre Frames New Rules To Prescribe Uniform Norms For Appointment Of Members To Tribunals [Read Rules]

By LawStreet News Network      15 February, 2020 12:02 PM      0 Comments
Centre Frames New Rules To Prescribe Uniform Norms

The Union Ministry of Finance has framed new rules that have prescribed uniform norms for the appointment and service conditions of members to various tribunals as reported on 14th February, 2020. The rules are called "Tribunal, Appellate Tribunal and other Authorities (Qualifications, Experience and other Conditions of Service of Members) Rules 2020" 

These rules are made in exercise of powers under Section 184 of the Finance Act of 2017 - The section authorizes the Central Government to notify rules governing persons appointed to tribunals on the following matters: qualification, appointment, terms of office, salaries and allowances, resignation, removal, and other terms and conditions of service.

The following rules are applicable to the following tribunals : 

  1. Industrial Tribunal constituted by the Central Government under the Industrial Disputes Act 1947.
  2. Income Tax Appellate Tribunal under the Income Tax Act 1961.
  3. Customs, Excise, Service Tax Appellate Tribunal under the Customs Act 1962.
  4. Appellate Tribunal under the Smugglers and Foreign Exchange Manipulators (Forfeiture of Property) Act 1976.
  5. Central Administrative Tribunals under the Administrative Tribunals Act 1985
  6. Railway Claims Tribunal under the Railway Claims Tribunal Act 1987.
  7. Securities Appellate Tribunal under the Securities and Exchange Board of India Act 1992.
  8. Debts Recovery Tribunal under the Recovery of Debts Due to Banks and Financial Institutions Act 1993.
  9. Debts Recovery Appellate Tribunal under the Recovery of Debts Due to Banks and Financial Institutions Act 1993.
  10. Airport Appellate Tribunal under the Airport Authority of India Act 1994.
  11. Telecom Disputes Settlement and Appellate Tribunal under the Telecom Regulatory Authority of India Act 1997.
  12. Appellate Board under the Trade Marks Act 1999.
  13. National Company Law Appellate Tribunal under the Companies Act 2013.
  14. Authority for Advance Ruling under the Income Tax Act 1961.
  15. Film Certification Appellate Tribunal under the Cinematograph Act 1956.
  16. National Consumer Dispute Redressal Commission under the Consumer Protection Act 1986.
  17. Appellate Tribunal for Electricity under the Electricity Act 2003.
  18. Armed Forces Tribunal under the Armed Forces Act 2007.
  19. National Green Tribunal under the National Green Tribunal Act 2000.

As per the 2020 rules, the appointment to the above-mentioned Tribunals will be made by the Central Government on the recommendations given by "Search cum selection Committee" that is to be constituted by each tribunal. The position of the committee is classified in the schedules of the rules. The Chief Justice of India or a Judge nominated by the CJI will be a member of the committee. The committee has the power to recommend the removal of a member and also conduct inquiry into allegations of a member's misconduct. 

The previous rules framed by the centre in 2017 had been struck down by the Constitution Bench of Supreme Court in November 2019 in the case of Rojer Mathew v. South Indian Bank.The rules put a hold on the judicial independence as the Central Government had the most say in the matters of appointments and removal of tribunal members. Therefore the selection committee of 2017 lacked the judicial dominance needed to in the appointments and removal of members and this was in contravention to the doctrine of Separation of powers. 

[Read Rules]

Author : Dyuti Pandya 

Share this article:

User Avatar

Leave a feedback about this

Trending News Updates
Historic Moment: All Four Gates of Puri’s Jagannath Temple Reopened After BJP’s Landmark Victory in Odisha

Historic Moment All Four Gates of Puris Jagannath Temple Reopened After BJPs Landmark Victory in Odisha

18 June, 2024 11:03 AM
Trending Executive
Education Minister admits irregularities in NEET UG; Centre, NTA to face probing queries in SC

Education Minister admits irregularities in NEET UG; Centre, NTA to face SC probe over exam conduct and paper leak allegations, counselling to proceed.

18 June, 2024 12:14 PM


Trending CelebStreet
Karan Johar moves Bombay High Court against film ‘Shaadi Ke Director Karan Aur Johar’

Karan Johar files a lawsuit in Bombay High Court against the film “Shaadi Ke Director Karan Aur Johar,” seeking to prevent the use of his name in the title.

13 June, 2024 12:01 AM
Trending Judiciary
Conspired to transform India into an Islamic country by 2047: Bombay HC denies bail to 3 Islamists PFI members [Read Order]

Bombay High Court denies bail to three PFI members accused of plotting to turn India into an Islamic state by 2047, citing strong evidence and risk of tampering.

13 June, 2024 12:37 AM
Trending Judiciary
Delhi HC refuses to stay NEET-UG admissions counselling, over paper leak allegations

Delhi High Court refuses to stay NEET-UG 2024 counselling amidst allegations of irregularities.

13 June, 2024 12:48 PM
Trending Judiciary
Centre to hold re-test for 1563 candidates awarded grace marks in NEET UG, 2024 [Read Order]

Centre to hold re-test for 1563 candidates awarded grace marks in NEET UG 2024. Date for re-test to be notified on June 13, results by June 30.

13 June, 2024 01:39 PM


Join Group

Signup for Our Newsletter

Get Exclusive access to members only content by email