38.6c New Delhi, India, Tuesday, July 23, 2024

Delhi HC designates two Courts as Spl. Courts to take up cases against MPs and MLAs

By LawStreet News Network      27 February, 2018 02:09 AM      0 Comments

The Delhi High Court by an order dated February 23rd, 2018, has designated two Courts as Special Courts to deal with cases against elected Members of Parliament (MPs) and Members of Legislative Assemblies (MLAs).

As per the order, the Court presided over by Mr. Arvind Kumar, Special Judge (PC Act)/CBI and the Court presided by Mr. Samar Vishal, ACMM-2 will be dealing with such cases at the Patiala House Courts Complex from March 1st, 2018.

The order further directs all cases pending against MPs and MLAs in different courts to be transferred to the two Courts before March 1st and an endeavor be made to dispose of these cases within one year by putting them on the fast track.

The order has come up in compliance with the Supreme Court directions on November 1st, 2017 and December 14th, 2017 in the case of Ashwani Kumar Upadhyay v. Union of India & Anr, in which the petitioner has sought lifetime debarment of convicted politicians. After hearing the case, the apex court directed the center to frame a scheme for setting up Special Courts to deal with criminal cases involving politicians.

Thereafter, Centre on December 12th, 2017, submitted before the Court a scheme for setting up 12 Special Courts at an expenditure of Rs. 7.80 crores. In response to which the Court on December 14th, directed that all 12 proposed Special Courts should be made operational by March 2018.

Share this article:

User Avatar

Leave a feedback about this

Trending Judiciary
NEET-UG: SC asks IIT-Delhi to apprise it of correct answer of a question where two options are found as correct

SC asks IIT-Delhi to determine correct answer for NEET-UG question with two correct options, report due by 12 PM Tuesday; court to hear further on re-test plea.

23 July, 2024 09:26 AM
Trending Judiciary
2021 Lakhimpur Kheri violence: SC grants regular bail to Ashish Mishra, son of ex Union Minister Ajay Mishra

SC grants regular bail to Ashish Mishra, son of ex-Union Minister, in the 2021 Lakhimpur Kheri violence case involving the death of eight people.

23 July, 2024 11:02 AM


Trending Judiciary
State govt has got no power to tinker with list of Scheduled Castes: Supreme Court [Read Judgement]

The Supreme Court ruled that state governments lack the authority to modify the Scheduled Castes lists, a power reserved exclusively for Parliament under Article 341.

17 July, 2024 09:31 AM
Trending Judiciary
SC asks Telangana govt to replace judge in Commission of Inquiry into power pact by previous govt

SC directs Telangana govt to replace Justice L Narasimha Reddy in Commission of Inquiry probing former CM KCR's alleged power sector irregularities.

17 July, 2024 09:40 AM
Trending Judiciary
Centre notifies appointments Justice N Kotiswar Singh, Justice Mahadevan as SC judges

Centre notifies appointments of Justice N Kotiswar Singh and Justice R Mahadevan as Supreme Court judges, marking the first SC judge from Manipur.

17 July, 2024 09:57 AM
Trending Judiciary
Imprisonment till rising of court not proper sentence for serious offence of bigamy: SC [Read Judgement]

The Supreme Court ruled that “imprisonment till the rising of the court" is not appropriate for bigamy, a serious offence, stressing the need for proportionate punishment.

17 July, 2024 10:00 AM


Join Group

Signup for Our Newsletter

Get Exclusive access to members only content by email