38.6c New Delhi, India, Sunday, December 03, 2023
Top Stories Supreme Court
Political NEWS Legislative Corner Celebstreet International Videos
Contact Us

DPT appoints Justice A.K. Goel as chairperson of NGT.

By Lawstreet News Network      Jul 07, 2018      0 Comments      1,410 Views
DPT appoints Justice A.K. Goel as chairperson of NGT.

Hours after the farewell of Justice AK Goel from the Supreme Court of India, Department of Personnel and Training (DPT) has appointed him as the new Chairperson of the National Green Tribunal (NGT).

His tenure has been specified as an NGT Chairperson for a period of five years from the date he joins, or till he reaches the age of 70 years, whichever is earlier.

As per the notification dated July 6th, 2018:-

  1. The Appointments Committee of the Cabinet (ACC) has approved the proposal for appointment of Justice Adarsh Kumar Goel, Judge Supreme Court of India as Chairperson, National Green Tribunal (NGT), in the pay scale and with such allowances and benefits as are admissible for the post, for a period of 05 years w.e.f the date of assumption of charge of the post, or till the age of 70 years, whichever is earlier.
  2. “Necessary communication in this regard has been sent to the Ministry of Environment, Forest & Climate Change.

Justice Adarsh Kumar Goel enrolled as an Advocate with the Bar Council of Punjab and Haryana on July 16th, 1974. After which he practiced before the High Court of Punjab and Haryana for about five years and before the Supreme Court of India and Delhi High Court for about twenty-two years.

On February 11th, 1999 Justice Adarsh Kumar Goel designated as Senior Advocate by the Supreme Court. Later on July 2nd, 2001 he was elevated as Judge of the Punjab and Haryana High Court.

After that, he was also appointed as Executive Chairman, Haryana State Legal Services Authority on May 17th, 2005 and Chief Justice of the Punjab and Haryana High Court from May 2nd, 2011 till he joined as the senior most Judge of the Gauhati High Court on September 12th, 2011. Subsequently, he was sworn in as Chief Justice of the Gauhati High Court on December 20th, 2011 and thereafter Chief Justice of the Orissa High Court on October 12th, 2013 on transfer. He got elevated as Judge of Supreme Court and assumed charge on July 7th, 2014.

Share this article:


Leave a feedback about this




Lawstreet Advertisement

Signup for Our Newsletter

Get Exclusive access to members only content by email