38.6c New Delhi, India, Wednesday, February 21, 2024

National Company Law Tribunal Cancels Summer Vacations for Benches

By Ghazal Bhootra      May 08, 2020      0 Comments
NCLT Cancels Summer Vacations

In order to make up for lost time and the work loss caused by the nationwide lockdown, the National Company Law Tribunal has agreed to quash the Summer Vacation, 2020 for all its benches.

The notification formally given by the Registrar states the following:

"Hon'ble President, National Company Law Tribunal is pleased to order that Summer Vacations falling in the months of May/June/July 2020 as shown in the Calendar of the respective NCLT Bench stand canceled and all Benches of NCLT shall function during the said period."

Likewise, the National Green Tribunal and the High Court of Bombay, High Court of Madras, High Court of Karnataka, High Court of Kerala, High Court of Delhi, High Court of Gujarat, High Court of Orissa and High Court of Telangana have also come to the agreement that in order to catch up with work that was stranded owing to lockdown, the summer vacation for the year stands canceled and all of the tribunals and courts will work throughout the vacation period.

The Calcutta High Court, on the other hand, has restrained the summer vacation period and shortened it to make up for the loss of time and work due to the pandemic.

Most courts including the Supreme Court are now functioning through online hearings through the platform of video conferencing and taking up matters of urgent importance.

In recent events, the National Company Law Tribunal transferred eight of its members to different benches spread throughout the country with "immediate effect".

Meanwhile, hearings in all National Company Law Tribunal benches across India are closed due to the lockdown announced by the government to contain the COVID-19 pandemic. Only urgent matters through video conferencing platforms are being heard and disposed of.

The National Company Law Tribunal was set up and came into force under section 408 of the Companies Act, 2013 on June 1, 2016.

Other than a Principal Bench at New Delhi, it has a total of 14 other benches across India in Ahmadabad, Allahabad, Bengaluru, Chandigarh, Chennai, Guwahati, Hyderabad, Kolkata, Mumbai, Cuttack, Jaipur, Kochi, Amravati, and Indore.

Share this article:

Leave a feedback about this



Lawstreet Advertisement
Join Group

Signup for Our Newsletter

Get Exclusive access to members only content by email