38.6c New Delhi, India, Sunday, May 26, 2024
Legal Insiders

Pleas In Madhya Pradesh HC Raise Doubts Over EVMs, Challenge Pragya Thakur's Win

By LawStreet News Network      10 July, 2019 12:00 AM      0 Comments
Pleas In Madhya Pradesh HC Raise Doubts Over EVMs, Challenge Pragya Thakur's Win

Nineteen petitions have been filed in the Madhya Pradesh High Court raising doubts over the functioning of Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) and challenging the victory of some Bharatiya Janata Party leaders, including Pragya Singh Thakur, in the Lok Sabha election.

Of these, 17 petitions were filed by Congress candidates who lost the general election, while two were moved by state-based voters.

Rakesh Dixit, a Bhopal-based journalist, who filed the election petition in his capacity as a voter has challenged the election of Pragya Thakur alleging that she whipped up communal passions and indulged in corrupt practice to win the polls, his counsel Arvind Srivastava told PTI.

During the Lok Sabha poll campaign, Thakur delivered speeches on religious lines and thus, violated Section 123 of the Representation of the People Act, 1951, he claimed.

Another voter, Raj Kumar Chauhan, filed the petition challenging BJP MP Riti Pathak's win from Sidhi. He has raised doubt over the functioning of the EVMs.

"Our client has stated that batteries of 99 per cent EVMs remained charged when they were opened for counting of votes on May 23," Chauhan's counsels Sanjay Agrawal and Anuj Agrawal said.

It appears only 1 per cent of the battery of EVMs was discharged in the process of polling of votes, which seems unbelievable, they said.

Sanjay Agrawal said the Congress' agent, Gulab Singh, earlier complained to the Election Commission about this but no action was taken.

Besides, 17 unsuccessful candidates also moved the High Court with their respective pleas. Among them, Congress leader and former Union Minister Kantilal Bhuria, who lost from Ratlam, filed a petition against BJP MP Guman Singh Damor, alleging the latter indulged in corrupt practices to win in the general election.

The other unsuccessful candidates in their petitions complained about the malfunctioning of EVMs.

In the Lok Sabha polls, BJP won 28 out of the total 29 seats in Madhya Pradesh.

Share this article:

User Avatar

Leave a feedback about this

Trending Judiciary
Courts this Week: Law Street Journal's Weekly Round-Up of SC & HCs [May 20 - May 25]

Get the latest updates from the Supreme Court of India and the High Courts ! Here’s a round up of the week's top legal stories in a quick, easy-to-read summary.

26 May, 2024 11:25 AM


Trending Judiciary
Supreme Court refuses to entertain plea for stay on new criminal laws

SC refuses plea to stay new criminal laws. Court deems the plea casual, noting laws aren't yet implemented. Petitioner withdraws. Laws effective from July 1, 2024.

20 May, 2024 12:58 PM
Trending Know The Law
SCBA Election Result 2024, Know the newly elected members

SCBA Election Result 2024: Senior Advocate Kapil Sibal elected President. Know the newly elected members and key office bearers leading the Supreme Court Bar Association.

20 May, 2024 03:03 PM
Trending Judiciary
Cannot Allow the Game of Hide and Seek for Committing Murder of an Unborn Child: MP High Court [Read Order]

MP High Court denies abortion for minor rape victim, condemns misuse of legal authority to terminate pregnancy and prevent justice.

20 May, 2024 03:52 PM
Trending Judiciary
Pune Porsche Hit & Run: Bail Granted to 17 Year Old in Under 14 Hours, Asked to write essay

Bail granted to 17-year-old in Pune Porsche hit-and-run case within 14 hours. Conditions include educational tasks, supervision, and counseling. Incident killed two.

20 May, 2024 04:30 PM


Join Group

Signup for Our Newsletter

Get Exclusive access to members only content by email