38.6c New Delhi, India, Friday, September 29, 2023
Top Stories Supreme Court
Political NEWS Legislative Corner Celebstreet International Videos
About Us Contact Us

Collegium approves transfer of seven judges [Read Statement]

By Lawstreet News Network Lawstreet News Network      Nov 25, 2022      0 Comments      759 Views
Collegium approves transfer of seven judges

NEW DELHI: The Supreme Court Collegium headed by Chief Justice of India D Y Chandrachud, in its first meetings, on Thursday approved transfer of seven judges of the High Courts.

It also recommended for elevation of two advocates and six judicial officers as judges of the Rajasthan High Court.

In the list of judges recommended for transfer, the name of Gujarat High Court judge, Justice Nikhil Kariel, whose reported shifting ignited protests among lawyers in the High Court, was missing.

The transfer list, however, included name of Telangana High Court judge, Justice A Abhishek Reddy. The news about his transfer was also met with protest by lawyers in Telangana High Court.

In its meeting held on Thursday, the Collegium recommended for transfer of Justice Ms V M Velumani from Madras to Calcutta High Court, Justice Battu Devanand from Andhra Pradesh to Madras High Court, Justice D Ramesh from Andhra Pradesh to Allahabad High Court, Justice Mrs Lalitha Kanneganti from Telangana to Karnataka High Court, Justice Dr D Nagarjun from Telangana to Madras High Court, Justice T Raja from Madras to Rajasthan High Court and Justice A Abhishek Reddy from Telangana to Patna High Court.

The Collegium also recommended for elevation of advocates Anil Kumar Upman, Smt Nupur Bhati as judges in the Rajasthan High.

In other decisions, the Collegium also approved elevation of judicial officers Rajendra Prakash Soni, Ashok Kumar Jain, Yogendra Kumar Purohit, Bhuwan Goyal, Praveer Bhatnagar, and Ashutosh Kumar as judges of the Rajasthan High Court.

In yet another decision, the Collegium also recommended for making two additional judges as permanent judges of Chhattisgarh High Court namely Justice Narendra Kumar Vyas, and Justice Naresh Kumar Chandravanshi.

Read Statement 1

Read Statement 2

Read Statement 3

Read Statement 4

Share this article:


Leave a feedback about this




Lawstreet Advertisement

Signup for Our Newsletter

Get Exclusive access to members only content by email