38.6c New Delhi, India, Monday, December 11, 2023
Top Stories Supreme Court
Political NEWS Legislative Corner Celebstreet International Videos
Contact Us

SC to organise meeting of Chief Justices of SCO member States between Mar 10 to 12 [Read Press Release]

By Lawstreet News Network      Mar 10, 2023      0 Comments      407 Views
SC to organise meeting of Chief Justices of SCO member States between Mar 10 to 12 [Read Press Release]

NEW DELHI: The Supreme Court of India is organising the 18 th meeting of the Chief Justices of the Supreme Courts of the SCO member States in New Delhi from March 10 to 12, 2023, with a view to develop judicial cooperation, an official statement said on Thursday.

Chief Justices Chairpersons of the Supreme Courts of SCO member states have been invited to attend the meeting, which is likely to witness discussions on "smart courts" and the future of the judiciary; facilitating "access to justice"; institutional challenges facing judiciary: delays, infrastructure, representation, and transparency.

"The meeting will involve a Joint interaction with the Chief Justices / Chairpersons / Judges from the Member / Observer States and representatives from SCO Secretariat and SCO RATS and will conclude with the signing of a joint statement," the official said.

In the active and constantly expanding activities of the Shanghai Cooperation Organisation, the interaction of the highest judicial instances is becoming more and more popular.

The seventeenth meeting of the Presidents of the Supreme Courts of the member states of the SCO was held in Dushanbe.

India assumed rotational presidency of the Shanghai Cooperation Organisation for a year in September 2022 through the Samarkand declaration last year. The Indian participation in the meeting will include the Chief Justice of India, Dr Dhananjay Y Chandrachud, Justices Sanjay Kishan Kaul, K M Joseph, both judge of the Supreme Court of India, among others.

The Shanghai Cooperation Organisation was created in 2001 on the basis of "Shanghai five" formed after the signing by Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, China, Russia and Tajikistan. The main goal of SCO is to strengthen mutual trust, friendship and good neighbourliness, encouraging effective cooperation in several areas among the member states. SCO members include China, India, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Pakistan, Russia, Tajikistan and Uzbekistan. Afghanistan, Belarus, Tran and Mongolia constitute the SCO observers while Armenia, Azerbaijan, Cambodia, Nepal are the SCO dialogue partners.

[Read Press Release]

Share this article:


Leave a feedback about this


Trending Legal Insiders
Gender Sensitization: Equality has no gender
22 hrs ago



Lawstreet Advertisement

Signup for Our Newsletter

Get Exclusive access to members only content by email